SQL Power Business Intelligence Productivity Tools

SQL Power Software Forum

SQL Power Software Forum

[Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
connecting to sql server 2008  XML
Forum Index » SQL Power Architect Discussion
tkolman

Does the latest version of power architect support SQL SErver 2008?

I am unable to connect using the provided JDBC driver
Tasse

Me too. I am not technical DBA and do not care how to set up RDBMS or connections. Connections have to work immediately or quite easily with a straightforward configuration help.

It seems that connecting to default-installation SQL Server 2008 is not a straightforward plug&play. It might be Microsofts fault but it leads to me not evaluating your product for large scale production services. Setting up different users, opening firewalls, getting jdbc-files etc. Too much wasted time and no connection yet. Its cheaper to buy a working proprietery product than waste expensive working time for this.

You should at least have straightforward instructions how to connect to main database-systems and solve the problems: Oracle, SQL Server, MySQL. As they are installed by default settings. It would make non-technical data modellers and analysts easier to evaluate your product for modelling and data tasks - not wasting time to set up the infrastructure for these tasks.

You could also make instant plug&play example datawarehouse for evaluation purposes. Similar to Microsofts Adventureworks. Something to play with models and data in less than an hour including downloading, installing power architect and databases.

The problem is - how to connect instantly to default SQL Server 2008 database. Screenshot-documentation or step-by-step guide including problems encountered in default-installation.
MikeAKnox

Check out the Suggestion Forum