SQL Power Business Intelligence Productivity Tools

SQL Power Software Forum

SQL Power Software Forum

[Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Trouble connecting to Oracle 10gr2  XML
Forum Index » SQL Power Architect Technical Support
Snabbles

I get the following error message when trying to connect to Oracle10gr2:
ca.sqlpower.architect.ArchitectException: Couldn't connect to database: Io exception: Connection refused(DESCRIPTION=(TMP=)(VSNNUM=169870080)(ERR=12505)(ERROR_STACK=(ERROR=(CODE=12505)(EMFI=4)))) (cause: java.sql.SQLException: Io exception: Connection refused(DESCRIPTION=(TMP=)(VSNNUM=169870080)(ERR=12505)(ERROR_STACK=(ERROR=(CODE=12505)(EMFI=4)))))

This is my first time using Power*Architect. Here is what I did:
1) Connection Menu->Database Connection manager->JDBC Drivers
2) Oracle 10g -> Add Jar -> Browsed to Oracle Home -> Picked classes111.jar
3) Connection Menu ->Add Source Connection ->New Connection -> Selected Oracle 10g. Entered Host, Port, Service, Account info.
Jeff
SQL Power Developer
[Avatar]

Hello,

From what I could tell by Googling that error message online, it seems the problem is indicated the CODE=12505 part, which indicates it's an ORA-12505 error.

Googling ORA-12505, I found this page (http://ora-12505.ora-code.com/)

ORA-12505: TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect descriptor
Cause: The listener received a request to establish a connection to a database or other service. The connect descriptor received by the listener specified a SID for an instance (usually a database instance) that either has not yet dynamically registered with the listener or has not been statically configured for the listener. This may be a temporary condition such as after the listener has started, but before the database instance has registered with the listener.
Action: